30 Schools to Jostle for Honours in GTB Masters Cup

first_imgThe draws is a routine balloting process in each year’s tournament through which the participating schools are placed into groups. The 2017/2018 season will have 13 more teams than the previous campaign. Eight of the teams will be making their first appearances in the competition.Since inception, the GTBank Masters Cup tournament has discovered and developed exceptional soccer talents, many of whom are currently on trials and scholarships with football clubs and academies in Nigeria and abroad.Commenting on the tournament, the Managing Director of GTBank, stated that “The Bank will sustain its drive towards ensuring the GTBank Masters Cup tournament remains a platform for identifying and nurturing young and talented players as they work towards their dream of being world class footballers, whilst fostering and building a healthier lifestyle at a critical stage in their lives.”Share this:FacebookRedditTwitterPrintPinterestEmailWhatsAppSkypeLinkedInTumblrPocketTelegram Thirty secondary schools consisting of 26 male and 16 female teams will be battling for honours in the 2017/18 season of the GTBank Masters Cup.At the draws held on Thursday in the Conference Room, St. Finbarr’s College, Akoka, Lagos, defending male champions, St. Finbarr’s College, will play in Group C against Federal Science and Technical College, Yaba, Ansar-ud-deen College, Isolo and Bellina College, Akoka.Female defending champions, Queens College, Yaba will be slugging it out in Group C against Greensprings School, Lekki, Reagan Memorial Baptist Girls’ Secondary School, Sabo and International School (Unilag), Lagos.The GTBank Masters Cup is an annual football tournament played by first generation colleges and other private secondary schools in Lagos aimed at actively engaging the youth through sports whilst promoting the values of excellence and fair play.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *