Police Commanders appointed for each administrative region from today

first_imgBy Kristen MacklingamSeveral senior officers in the Guyana Police Force (GPF) will be taking up the post as Police Commanders in the 10 administrative regions effective today.As such, the old policing divisions (A-G) have been officially dissolved.Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP), Paul Williams, who has responsibility for the GPF’s administration, when contacted on Sunday by Guyana Times confirmed the appointments and stated that it was necessary in order to ensure that the GPF executes its duties to the best of its abilities in every region.“Each administrative region will have a Commander and a Divisional Headquarters and that has been one of our strategic alignment which the Force has been looking at for quite some time. Looking in terms of the stand of control and the development of these new housing projects and so on, they are too far-flung for one Commander to really and truly [be] able to control and maybe exercise proper jurisdiction. So that is why we came up with the idea in terms of ensuring that this arrangement is in place,” he told this publication.DCP Williams explained that such a move would also create more opportunities for other police officers to be promoted and, therefore, broaden the scope for elevation in rank while serving the GPF.He stated that the posts which some of these minted Commanders would have held prior to their promotion will be filled, thereby ensuring that other police ranks are promoted.Additionally, the DCP said that with every Commander in a region, there will be the need to have a Deputy Commander functioning so more promotions are in store.The Police Division in Region One (Barima-Waini) will be headed by Senior Superintendent Wendell Blanhum, who was functioning as the Officer-in-Charge of sub-division three in the former F Division (Interior locations).In Region Two (Pomeroon-Supenaam), Acting Commander of the former G Division (Essequibo Coast and Islands), Superintendent Crystal Robinson will hold the commanding post.For Region Three (Essequibo Islands-West Demerara), Commander of the former D Division (West Bank Demerara-East Bank Essequibo), Senior Superintendent Linden Lord will retain his position.Region Four (Demerara-Mahaica), because of its large populace, has been split into three sub-divisions; Georgetown, East Bank Demerara, and East Coast Demerara. Assistant Commissioner and Commander Marlon Chapman, who was in charge of A Division (Georgetown-East Bank Demerara) will remain in control of the capital city.Meanwhile, Head of the GPF’s Police Narcotics Branch, Senior Superintendent Kurleigh Simon will now head the East Bank Demerara corridor.For the East Coast Demerara corridor, Assistant Commissioner Royston Andries-Junor will be in charge.In Region Five (Mahaica-Berbice), Superintendent Yonette Stephens will command that area while in Region Six (East Berbice-Corentyne), Senior Superintendent Calvin Brutus will be the head.Previously, Regions Five and Six comprised the B Division (Berbice) and that was headed by former Commander Paul Langevine, who has now retired from the GPF.Assistant Commissioner Kevin Adonis, who was previously the Commander for the now dissolved F Division (Interior locations) which comprised of Regions One, Seven, Eight and Nine, will be Commander for Region Seven (Cuyuni-Mazaruni).Meanwhile, in Region Eight (Potaro-Siparuni), Superintendent Ramesh Ashram has been placed as the Commander. Prior to this appointment, Ashram was acting Commander of E Division (Linden-Kwakwani) for a short period after Commander Lord was transferred to Head another policing Division.Police ranks in Region Nine (Upper Takutu-Upper Essequibo) will be commanded by Superintendent Keithon King and Region 10 (Upper Demerara-Berbice) is to be headed by Superintendent Courtland Winter, who was, prior to this promotion, the Superintendent of the Court.last_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *